Reviewed by Martha Artyomenko



A master violinist trained in Vienna, Rebekah Carrington manages to wheedle her way into an audition with the new maestro at the Nashville Philharmonic. But women are “far too fragile and frail” for the rigors of an orchestra, and Rebekah’s hopes are swiftly dashed when the conductor–determined to leave his mark on the world of classical music–bows to public opinion. To make matters worse, Adelicia Cheatham, mistress of Belmont Mansion and Rebekah’s new employer, agrees with him.

Nationally acclaimed conductor Nathaniel Tate Whitcomb is Nashville’s youngest orchestra leader. And despite a reluctant muse and a strange buzzing and recurring pain in his head, he must finish composing his symphony before the grand opening of the city’s new symphony hall. Even more pressing, he must finish it for the one who first inspired his love of music–his dying father. As Tate’s ailment worsens, he knows Rebekah can help him finish his symphony. But how can he win back her trust when he’s robbed her of her dream?

My Review:

It is hard to describe this book. I am not a instrument lover. In fact, many of my siblings would testify of my desire to destroy piano’s during many years of my life based on how annoying they were to me. But I do love beautiful music, when well played. This book is music, well played. The subject of music is artfully woven into the story of a pair of people struggling to find their proper place in life. The romance is here, but is not the focus of the story. It is a subtle part of the novel, but you could almost miss it, but yet you cannot. Instead, the music, life and the desire for freedom from abuse, standards placed on the characters by society, and a desire to belong is stronger throughout. I really enjoyed this closing novel of the Belmont series as well as the true, historical tidbits sprinkled throughout.

You can purchase your own copy here.

“A Note Yet Unsung”

Leave a Reply

Anti-spam: complete the taskWordPress CAPTCHA